“I disapprove of what you say, but will defend to the death your right to say it” (except if the topic is abortion)

That appears to be the slogan of the NY Salon, a New York political disscussion group, which organises forums to debate topics. This quote (originally from Voltaire is what they “agree with” as well as “disscussing ideas robustly”. their next event is going to be a “whats so bad about abortion” abortion promotion debate. Except that there will be only “pro-choice” speakers there. They refused to allow the group “Silent No More”, which represents women who have been hurt by and regret their abortion, to attend. What I think is interesting is how groups like Silent No More exist, but none (that I’m aware of) of women who have chosen to keep their babies and regret it.

Also interesting about the confrence (further displaying pro-abortion bias, as well as the questions such as “Why do women need the right to abortion?” instead of something like “should there be a right to abortion, and if so why do women need it?”) is the funders. They include the bogus “Catholic” organization “Catholics for a Free Choice“, which is a pro-abortion pro-“gay rights” “catholic” group. The use of the word “Catholic” in their name (in my opinion) is blasphemy.

Despite what I said above, I agree they should have a right to hold their confrence, as I agree with their principle “Idisapprove of what you say, but will defend to the death your right to say it” (except I’m not tooo keen on the “to the death part”).

Explore posts in the same categories: Abortion, United States

15 Comments on ““I disapprove of what you say, but will defend to the death your right to say it” (except if the topic is abortion)”

  1. Scott Says:

    Hey Nick
    I love your blog well done, I agree with it all


  2. Scott- thanks for the positive feedback.

  3. Richard Says:

    “The use of the word “Catholic” in their name (in my opinion) is blasphemy”?

    Ummm .. blasphemy is using the lord’s name in vein. This sentence does even refer to the lord (God) in any way.

    That aside, “Catholic” has many meanings too, not just the one meaning a type of Christian.


  4. Ok, it might not fit a literal definition of the word “blasphemy”, but it is offensive to me, as a catholic who (unlike them) follows church teaching on the issues of contraception, abortion and homosexuality. the use of the word “catholic” in their name clearly refers to the Catholic Church.

  5. Jen Says:

    Since when can Catholics not be pro-choice?
    I think you will find that there are many Catholic women that are – as one myself, with many Catholic pro-choice friends, I know they exist.

    I would like to point out that there is also a difference between pro-abortion and pro-choice.
    And how do you know they don’t follow church teachings?

    Hate to pull out the old standby, but I think that perhaps if you had a womb, you might be able to think a little more objectively.

  6. Enconiapiorne Says:

    Hello!
    How are you?

  7. suckonthis Says:

    “What I think is interesting is how groups like Silent No More exist, but none (that I’m aware of) of women who have chosen to keep their babies and regret it.”

    That’s one of the dumbest statements I’ve ever heard. I’m glad that it’s mainly people like you who argue the abortion access obstructionist point of view. You totally discredit your cause with idiotic comments like that.

  8. Cileocealge Says:

    This looks cool so far, what’s up people?
    If it’s not just all bots here, let me know. I’m looking to network
    Oh, and yes I’m a real person LOL.

    See ya,

  9. endeavorniche Says:

    I know I’m way late with this but the original quote is ” I disagree with what you say, but will defend to the death your right to say it”.
    Voltaire is most often credited with the saying, but many believe that this is a widespread mistake, and that the quote was originally said by Evelyn Beatrice Hall.

  10. Tielawite Says:

    Hi форумчане
    Невероятно , но так и есть – женюсь!
    вот как Вы на это смотрите?

    з.ы. сорри если не туда написал, имоции 🙂

  11. NNbuketNN Says:

    доставка цветов в Нижнем Новгороде доставка цветов

  12. Cash Advance Says:

    gracious simply click the following web site

  13. aibolitbis Says:

    Космос устроен очень интересно, а челеовек устройством подобен космосу. Веды содержат информацию исчерпывающую обо всем.


Leave a Reply

